Founded in 1984, The Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) is a non-profit national organization of composers, performers, and teachers of electro-acoustic music representing every part of the country and virtually every musical style. Electro-Acoustic music is a term used to describe those musics which are dependent on electronic technology for their creation and/or performance. Many members of SEAMUS, like Jon Appleton, the guiding light in the conception of the Synclavier, are recognized world leaders in their fields. All are dedicated to the use of the most advanced technology as the tools of their trade.

SEAMUS seeks to provide a broad forum for those involved or interested in electronic music. Through its journal, newsletter, national meetings, and its national archive at the University of Texas, SEAMUS seeks to increase communication among the diverse constituency of the relatively new music medium.

The Society’s objectives include:

  • To encourage the composition and performance of electro-acoustic music
  • To develop a network for technical information and support
  • To promote concerts and radio broadcasts of electro-acoustic music both in the US and abroad
  • To create an exchange of information through newsletters and other means of communication
  • To establish and maintain a national archive and information center for electro-acoustic music
  • To attract a wide diversity of members and supporters
  • To advocate licensing and copyright concerns

SEAMUS strives to address not only relevant technology but also the non-technical issues pertinent to the electro- acoustic music community. In a field usually dominated by technical concerns, it is refreshing to hear paper sessions devoted to aesthetics, collaboration, education and of the ethical and social issues facing electro-acoustic musicians. The provocative sessions provide fuel for lively discussions during the national meetings.

SEAMUS Board of Directors

PRESIDENT Mark Zaki president (at) seamusonline (dot) org
VICE PRESIDENT OF PROGRAMS Scott Miller slmiller (at) stcloudstate.edu
VICE PRESIDENT FOR MEMBERSHIP Linda Antas vp_membership (at) seamusonline.org
MEMBER AT LARGE Per Bloland per.bloland (at) gmail.com
TREASURER Ryan Carter treasurer (at) seamusonline.org
SECRETARY Kyong Mee Choi kchoi (at) roosevelt.edu
EDITOR, SEAMUS NEWSLETTER Anthony Cornicello newsletter_editor (at) seamusonline.org
EDITOR, SEAMUS JOURNAL Tae Hong Park park (at) tulane.edu
WEBMASTER, SEAMUS JOURNAL Gary Knudson gak (at) liquidspherestudios.com
DIRECTOR OF CONFERENCES Chris Hopkins hopkinsc (at) iastate.edu
DIRECTOR, CD SERIES Scott Wyatt s-wyatt (at) uiuc.edu
SEAMUS WEBMASTER Evan Merz evanxmerz (at) yahoo.com
DATABASE MANAGER Sam Heuck heucks (at) gmail.com
EMAIL LIST COORDINATOR John Lato jwlato (at) gmail.com

For SEAMUS Membership Dues and Inquiries:


School of Music
Montana State University
P.O. Box 173420
Bozeman MT 59717-3420
EMAIL: vp_membership (at) seamusonline (dot) org

All other mail should be sent to:

TORRANCE, CA 90501-5034