ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Composer Commissioning Program

The purpose of this program is to stimulate student participation in SEAMUS activities, and to encourage young composers to pursue creative endeavors in electro-acoustic music. The program is administered by SEAMUS and funded by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) <>.

Download the current poster


A maximum of two prizes may be awarded.  The decision of the judges will be final.

First Prize

• Commission of $1250 for a new work of electro-acoustic music
• Performance of commissioned work at the SEAMUS National Conference the following year
• Recording of the commissioned work in the SEAMUS Compact Disc Series
• Certificate of recognition

Second Prize

• Commission of $750 for a new work of electro-acoustic music
• Performance of commissioned work at the SEAMUS National Conference the following year
• Certificate of recognition


Applicants to the ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Commissioning Competition must be student members of SEAMUS and must be either currently enrolled in an academic program in the United States (high school through doctoral studies) or a United States citizen studying abroad. All completed submissions will be verified for student status against current SEAMUS membership records.


Note that the rules and procedures have recently changed. All submissions are to be made online, through the portal specified in the call for works. Only one work of electroacoustic music may be submitted. For specific submission guidelines, please see the current submission site. For more information see the FAQ page.

General Guidelines

• Audio Files: music submissions should include a representative audio recording of the work. If a concert work, it must be the complete composition. Installations may be represented by an excerpted recording not to exceed 10 minutes in length. Judging of music submissions for ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Competition will be from audio files in the MP3 format. Multichannel works will be judged from a stereo mix, also MP3. Please assist us by submitting in MP3 format.
• Scores: for submissions involving a score, please submit an anonymized PDF score for review. Please do not mail in printed scores at this time.
• Video Submissions: note that for works involving video, only the audio portion will be considered for judging purposes. You must be the composer of the music for the video. Please submit an MP3 of the music as specified above.
• Only one (1) entry per student.

This same work may or may not be submitted to the SEAMUS National Conference via the conference submission page. All finalists in the ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Commission Competition must attend the current SEAMUS National Conference.

For more information on the requirements and the submission process, please see the current call for works and the FAQ page.


Eli Fieldsteel (2012, First Prize)
Chris Chandler (2012, Second Prize)
Robert Seaback (2011, First Prize)
Sangbong Nam (2011, Second Prize)
Chester Udell (2010, First Prize)
Chikashi Miyama (2010, Second Prize)
Christopher Biggs (2009, First Prize)
Lance Montgomery (2009, Second Prize)
John Lato (2008, First Prize)
Jason Bolte (2008, Second Prize)
Alexis Bacon (2007, First Prize)
Kristen Volness(2007, Second Prize)
Kyong Mee Choi (2006, First Prize)
Anna Clyne (2006, Second Prize)
Ben Hackbarth (2005, First Prize)
Ed Martin (2005, Second Prize)
Per Bloland (2004, First Prize)
Chris Staefe (2004, Second Prize)
Michael Drews (2003, First Prize)
Luis Maurette (2003, Second Prize)
Konstantinos Karanthanasis (2002, First Prize)
Noel Paul (2002, Second Prize)
Kristy McGarity (2000, First Prize)
Suk-Jun Kim (2000, Second Prize)
Elainie Lillios (1999, First Prize)
Paul Oehlers (1999, Second Prize)
Daniel Worley (1998, First Prize)
William “Pete” Moss (1998, Second Prize)
Michael Pounds (1997)
Bruce Hamilton (1996)
Matt Ingalls (1995)


The Allen Strange Memorial Award, named for composer Allen Strange (1943-2008), is an annual award to celebrate the best undergraduate or high school electro-acoustic composition. It is administered by SEAMUS as a sub-category of the ASCAP/SEAMUS competition. Every year 4 finalists are selected, of which one is designated the winner. All submissions by undergraduates and high school students to the ASCAP/SEAMUS competition are automatically considered for the Allen Strange Memorial Award. The winner receives a cash prize of $250.