SEAMUS past president • Jon Christopher Nelson

Jon Christopher Nelson's (b. 1960) electro-acoustic music has been performed widely throughout the United States, Europe, and Latin America and has been honored with numerous awards including fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Fulbright Commission.  He is also the recipient of a Bourges Prize, a Luigi Russolo Prize, and numerous electroacoustic commissions.  In addition to his electroacoustic works, Nelson has composed a variety of acoustic compositions that have been performed by ensembles such as the New World Symphony, the Memphis Symphony, ALEA III, and others. He has composed in residence at Sweden's national Electronic Music Studios during the 1989-90 academic year as well as the fall of 1994. Nelson received his Ph.D. from Brandeis University and has studied digital audio processing and computer music composition with Barry Vercoe at the MIT Media Lab. He also has worked as a technical consultant at MIT's Media Lab for composers Mario Davidovsky, Jean-Claude Risset, and Morton Subotnick. His work can be heard on the Bourges, Russolo Pratella, CDCM, NEUMA, ICMC, and SEAMUS labels. Nelson currently serves as the Interim Asociate Dean for Operations at UNT